Latest U3A Fellowship Awards


Fellowship of Up Holland & District U3A is a special form of membership. It is marked with the award of a certificate together with free membership for life. To qualify for a Fellowship, the member will have made an outstanding contribution to the ongoing development of our U3A. Normally a minimum of five years’ active service in a leading role is required.
Any member may nominate another member by providing information demonstrating how the nominee meets the criteria. Please give details of the actual involvement that this person has made and include the period of time over which this has taken place.
This is not an election, and the Committee does not have to agree to any nomination and has the right to appoint someone who has not been nominated. Only a small number of members will qualify for the award at any one time – it will be a rare and, we hope, coveted, honour.
Information on the criteria required, and nomination forms can be obtained from the Secretary, Beth Turton.

 Barbara Beesley


At the Annual General Meeting held via Zoom in June 2020 a Fellowship Award was presented to Barbara Beesley for her ‘outstanding contribution to Up Holland & District U3A’ over many years.
Barbara has been a valued member of the Management Committee for many years, is an active Group Leader and has organised holidays for U3A members.
Due to the unprecedented circumstances this year, the certificate was presented (socially distanced of course!) at a later date.